//
you're reading...
My Purpose

Drunk off the Realness – Poem

According to croberts5

Hope you all enjoy. STAY POSITIVE. *poem inspired from Uptown Live @ Betti Ono last week*

 – Drunk Off The Realness –

Staring at the bottom of this wine glass wondering where the night went. Similar to when I stare at my past, wondering where my life went.The stilletos on the floor reminding me. Another woman had to come to feed my addiction, a Cabernet from the the mid 80’s who I intended to spit out after briefly tasting. Cause you know I got a thing for red wine. But little did I know it was from her valley I would have a hard time racing… away from. The plan was as smooth as satin, be a little misogynistic, typical heterosexual male ignorant, because that’s what works right. But you see this patriarchal venture got ruffled when she made it clear that I would do no dominating, as her light brown eyes slowly deconstructed my bravado. As she squashed my preconceived notions I felt like a grape in her wooden basket, stomped on by her self worth, redefining my expectations, of her. And remember she was wearing stilletos. As the night continued I felt as if I were a newly poured glass, emerging to be tasted by those who could learn from the mistakes of my past, so maybe next time the next woman will know the next questions to ask, I wonder how many willing to teach the next questions R Left. The night ends with a collection of intoxicated revelations like “If drunk words are sober thoughts, in this happy hour how much truth has been bought?” And with the elegance of a dancer her caramel hands motion to the wine glass, smudged with fingerprints of the night past, and proclaim “In there you will find the answer.” For the toxicity of her femininity has infected my once healthy masculinity screwing up my sensibilities. So as she slides back into her stilletos she leaves me with this: “Let this be your inebriation from the sobriety of bliss.”

About croberts5

Love on accident. Live on purpose. I do some things people label revolutionary, to me they just feel like the truth.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Drunk off the Realness – Poem

  1. Nice, very vivid picture & story !! it was very interesting as I didn’t quite know how it read because it’s in a paragraph. Would love to hear it recited!

    Posted by Kay_fbg | November 29, 2011, 7:58 pm
  2. “As she squashed my preconceived notions I felt like a grape in her wooden basket, stomped on by her self worth, redefining my expectations, of her.” and ” For the toxicity of her femininity has infected my once healthy masculinity screwing up my sensibilities.” are some powerful lines. I loved it, I always enjoyed your poems. 🙂

    Posted by miya | December 7, 2011, 2:07 am
    • Thank you!!! Glad you enjoyed it. This piece makes me think about recreation and re-examination of self as well as perception (and a bunch of stuff in general lol). It evokes a lot of different things and it’s absolutely awesome that you got something from it! Appreciate the input.

      Posted by croberts5 | December 7, 2011, 2:39 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,903 other followers

